We couldn't find that.
Let's go back home and try again.

Apollo 9 50th Anniversary

Apollo 9 50th Anniversary

The 50th Anniversary of Apollo 9, the first of four Apollo flights in 1969, including the historic Apollo 11 moon landing in July later that year, took center stage during a special celebration. All three Apollo 9 crew members — Commander James McDivitt, Command Module Pilot David Scott, and Lunar Module Pilot Rusty Schweickart — as well as Flight Directors Gerry Griffin and Gene Kranz and other Apollo luminaries, were in attendance. Apollo 9 paved the way for later lunar exploration with a series of milestones, including the first Extravehicular Activity (spacewalk) of the Apollo program, NASA’s first two-man EVA, and more.

Photography by Jennifer Nelson


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *