Loading…

We couldn't find that.
Let's go back home and try again.

Best of Family & Finance 2021

Congratulations to the winners of Ranch & Coast's Best of Family & Finance 2021

Published

Preschool

Winners: Horizon Prep horizonprep.org
& Magdalena Ecke Family YMCA 760.942.9622, ymcasd.org/ecke
Finalist:
Santa Fe Christian Schools sfcs.net
Finalist: The Learning Tree 760.943.0848, learningtreepreschoolsd.com
Finalist:  Hanna Fenichel Center 858.755.0860, hannafenichel.com

Private School

Winners: Santa Fe Christian Schools 858.755.8900, sfcs.net
& Cathedral Catholic High School 858.523.4000, cathedralcatholic.org
Finalist:
Horizon Prep 858.381.8888, horizonprep.org
Finalist: The Bishop’s School 858.459.4021, bishops.com
Finalist: Francis Parker School 858.775.0430, francisparker.org

Public School

Winners: San Dieguito High School Academy 760.753.1121, sd.sduhsd.net
& La Costa Canyon High School 760.436.6136, lc.sduhsd.net
Finalist: Torrey Pines High School 858.755.0125, tp.sduhsd.net
Finalist: Canyon Crest Academy 858.350.0253, cc.sduhsd.net

Children’s Activity Center

Winners: Birch Aquarium at Scripps Institution of Oceanography 858.534.3474, aquarium.ucsd.edu
& San Diego Botanic Garden 760.436.3036, sdbgarden.org
Finalist: The New Children’s Museum 619.233.8792, thinkplaycreate.org
Finalist: Butterfly Farms 760.613.5867, butterflyfarms.org
Finalist:
Children’s Nature Retreat 619.320.4942, childrensnatureretreat.org

Editors’ Pick — Exciting New Play Place: Art + Play Space The New Children’s Museum has opened its first stand-alone satellite location, located on the upper level of Del Mar Plaza. The 2,000-square-foot Art + Play Space is a smaller version of the museum’s 50,000-square-foot downtown location, featuring a commissioned art installation, hands-on makerspace, and museum store. The space also features a smaller version of the popular Wobbleland by San Diego artist Marisol Rendón. A giant kitchen sink with soft, larger-than-life fruit and vegetable sculptures, the commissioned installation introduces young children to art in an immersive and playful manner. The museum plans to host artist talks, birthday parties, camps, and other events at this location. Admission is $10 for adults and children two and up, and free for museum members. 858.925.7508, thinkplaycreate.org M.P.

Kids’ Camp

Winners: Helen Woodward Animal Center 858.756.4117, animalcenter.org
& Magdalena Ecke Family YMCA 760.942.9622, ymcasd.org/ecke
Finalist: Rawhide Ranch 760.758.0083, rawhideranch.com
Finalist: Rancho Coastal Humane Society 760.753.6413, rchumanesociety.org
Finalist:
Laughing Pony Rescue laughingponyrescue.org

Kids’ Birthday Party Venue

Winners: San Diego Botanic Garden 760.436.3036, sdbgarden.org
& Magdalena Ecke Family YMCA 760.942.9622, ymcasd.org/ecke
Finalist: Helen Woodward Animal Center 858.756.4117, animalcenter.org
Finalist:
Children’s Nature Retreat 619.320.4942, childrensnatureretreat.org
Finalist: Rancho Coastal Humane Society 760.753.6413, rchumanesociety.org

Nanny/Domestic Staffing Company

Winners: Loving Nannies 760.943.6866, lovingnannies.com
& Seaside Staffing Company 619.881.8887, seasidestaffingcompany.com
Finalist: Sitterwise 619.303.4379, sitterwise.com
Finalist: Staffing at Tiffanie’s staffingattiffanies.com

Retirement Community

Winners: La Costa Glen 866.361.0973, lacostaglen.com
& La Marea Senior Living 760.268.9330, lamareaseniorliving.com
Finalist: Casa de Mañana Retirement Community 800.959.7010, casademanana.org
Finalist: La Vida Del Mar 858.314.8757, srgseniorliving.com

Pediatrician

Winners: Scripps Coastal Medical Center Encinitas 760.753.7143, scripps.org
& Nancy Clementino, MD, Rady Children’s Hospital San Diego 760.436.4511, rchsd.org
Finalist: Anna Mendenhall, MD Scripps 858.793.1011, scripps.org
Finalist: Coast Pediatrics 858.794.7337, 858.755.7337, coastpediatrics.com

Pediatric Dentist/Orthodontist

Winners: Davis Pediatric Dentistry/Yoshikane Orthodontics dryoshikane.comdavispediatricdds.com
& Warner Pediatric Dental 760.942.1570, warnerpediatricdental.com
Finalist: The Super Dentists thesuperdentists.com
Finalist: Spencer Mauseth, DDS, Encinitas Pediatric Dentistry 760.634.5437, encinitaskids.com

Pet Store

Winners: Tigertail Pet Foods LLC 760.634.1183 tigertailpetfoods.com
& Dirty Dogs dirtydogs.com
Finalist: Kahoots kahootsfeedandpet.com
Finalist: Pupologie 760.436.1226, pupologie.com

Pet Adoption Organization

Winners: Helen Woodward Animal Center 858.756.4117, animalcenter.org
& Rancho Coastal Humane Society 760.753.6413, rchumanesociety.org
Finalist: It’s the Pits Dog Rescue 858.484.0985, itsthepits.org
Finalist: San Diego Humane Society 619.299.7012, sdhumane.org
Finalist: Labrador Rescuers labrescuers.org

Veterinary Clinic

Winners: The Drake Center for Veterinary Care 760.753.9393, thedrakecenter.com
& All Pets Animal Hospital 760.634.2022, allpetsanimal.com
Finalist: Helen Woodward Animal Center Companion Animal Hospital 858.756.4469, animalcenter.org
Finalist:
VCA Pacific Petcare Animal Hospital 858.481.1101, vcapacificpetcare.com
Finalist: Canyon Creek Animal Hospital 760.632.1212, canyoncreekvet.com

Pet Groomer

Winners: Dirty Dogs dirtydogs.com
& Dog in Suds 760.943.0653
Finalist: Happy Spa Dogs Mobile Grooming 949.860.7337, happyspadogs.com
Finalist: Happy Tails Pet Salon 760.230.6354
Finalist: Spawtique Mobile Pet Grooming 844.734.7666, spawtiquegrooming.com

Doggy Daycare/Walking

Winners: Claws and Paws Pet Sitting Service 858.692.7448, 858.414.8396, clawsandpawspetsitting.com
& Kamp Kanine Day Care for Dogs 760.207.5267, kamp-kanine.com
Finalist: JenLovesPets858.205.8132, jenlovespets.com
Finalist:
Woofingham Palace 760.929.1996, woofinghampalace.com

Dog Trainer

Winners: Denelle Smally Curry, Kamp Kanine Day Care for Dogs 760.207.5267, kamp-kanine.com
& Woofingham Palace 760.929.1996, woofinghampalace.com
Finalist: JenLovesPets 858.205.8132, jenlovespets.com
Finalist: Specialty Dog Training 855.287.8659, specialtydogtraining.com

Wealth Manager

Winners: The Pangaea Group at Morgan Stanley 858.613.7100, advisor.morganstanley.com/the-pangaea-group
& The Rancho Santa Fe Group at Morgan Stanley 858.613.8184, fa.morganstanley.com/rsf
Finalist: Michael Dellisant, Baker Tilly Wealth Management, LLC 858.597.4100, bakertilly.com
Finalist: Robert Inbody, Morgan Stanley 858.729.5010, advisor.morganstanley.com/robert.inbody

Family Law

Winners: ABC Family Law & Mediation Center 619.234.8585, abcfamilylawsd.com
& Law Office of William R Fuhrman 760.479.2525, sdiegolaw.com
Finalist: Shana J. Black, Attorney at Law 619.557.0122, shanablack.com
Finalist: Antonyan Miranda, LLP 619.696.1100, expertdivorcelaw.com

Mortgage Broker/Company

Winners: Shoreline Properties 619.251.8803, shorelineprops.com
& Ranch & Coast Mortgage Group 760.230.2042, rcmloan.com
Finalist: Prospect Home Finance 858.605.0952
Finalist: RWM Home Loans 858.794.2155, rwmloans.com

Accountant

Winners: Wastvedt & Company, CPA 858.201.6850, wastvedtco.com
& Tyson Abbo, Abbo Tax CPA 858.269.8190, abbotax.com
Finalist: Art Wankel, CPA, Art Wankel & Associates 858.259.8803, artwankelcpa.com
Finalist: Mike Blevins Tax 858.558.1040

Insurance Agent

Winners: Lauren Bottger, American National Insurance Company 858.216.6039, lauren.bottger@american-national.com
& Marsh & McLennan Agency 800.321.4696, marshmma.com
Finalist: Jim Coleman, State Farm 858.755.6794, jimcolemaninsurance.com
Finalist: SSA Insurance Services 888.800.7705, ssainsuranceservices.com

Readers’ Choice — Best Children’s Activity Center: Birch Aquarium Its highlight is undeniably the showcase, two-story, 70,000-gallon kelp forest exhibit, but visitors can find fascinating discoveries around every turn at this mecca for little marine lovers and budding oceanographers. The aquarium is a rain-or-shine destination, making it a natural option for the stroller set (but just as satisfying for adults), and with annual family memberships costing under $100, it’s got an unbeatable bang-for-buck value, with the feel-good bonus knowing it supports the work of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego. This great attraction will only be more exciting when its newest habitat, featuring rarely seen little blue penguins, opens next summer. Birch will be the only aquarium in the Western U.S. to house them, and despite their diminutive size (this tiniest of penguins is under a foot tall), it’s a giant win for visitors to the aquarium. 858.534.3474, aquarium.ucsd.edu D.M.

Image Credits Photography by Vincent Knakal

Comments

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *