Loading…

We couldn't find that.
Let's go back home and try again.

Best of Ranch & Coast 2020: Dining

Congratulations to the winners of Ranch & Coast's Best of Dining 2020

Marco Li Mandri outside in Little Italy, San Diego
Published

New Restaurant
Winners: The Plot 442.266.8200, theplotrestaurant.com & Alce 101 858.704.4465, alce101.com
Finalist: Herb & Sea 760.704.8300, herbandsea.com
Finalist:
RoVino the Foodery 619.310.6421, rovinothefoodery.com
Finalist: Toast Gastrobrunch 760.438.1212, toastgastrobrunch.com

Favorite Restaurant
Winners: Jeune et Jolie 760.637.5266, jeune-jolie.com & Mille Fleurs 858.756.3085, millefleurs.com
Finalist: Veladora Coastal Ranch 858.759.6216, ranchovalencia.com
Finalist:
Bleu Boheme 619.255.4167, bleuboheme.com
Finalist: The Grill at Torrey Pines 858.777.6641, lodgetorreypines.com  

Fine Dining
Winners: Nine-Ten Restaurant & Bar 858.964.5400, nine-ten.com & The Marine Room 858.459.7222, marineroom.com
Finalist: Mister A’s 619.239.1377, asrestaurant.com
Finalist:
A.R. Valentien 858.777.6635, lodgetorreypines.com
Finalist: Pamplemousse Grille 858.792.9090, pgrille.com

Casual/Family-Friendly
Winners: Casa de Bandini 760.634.3443, casadebandini.com & Breakfast Republic multiple locations, breakfastrepublic.com
Finalist: Fig Tree Café 619.821.2044, 858.274.2233, figtreeeatery.com
Finalist:
Sugar Factory American Brasserie 619.814.2225, sugarfactory.com

Quick Bite
Winners: The Crack Shack multiple locations, crackshack.com & Thyme in the Ranch 858.759.0747, thymeintheranch.com
Finalist: Lobster West multiple locations, lobsterwest.com
Finalist:
067 Eatery 858.832.8150, 067eatery.com

Outdoor Dining
Winners: Morada at The Inn at Rancho Santa Fe 858.381.8289, theinnatrsf.com & Top of the Market 619.234.4867, sdtopofthemarket.com
Finalist: Poseidon Restaurant 858.755.9345, poseidonrestaurant.com
Finalist:
Stone Brewing World Bistro & Gardens 760.294.7866, 619.269.2100, stonebrewing.com
Finalist: InsideOut 619.888.8623, insideoutsd.com

Bar/Nightlife
Winners: Cucina Enoteca Del Mar 858.704.4500, urbankitchengroup.com & The Pony Room, Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa 858.759.6246, ranchovalencia.com
Finalist: Barleymash 619.255.7373, barleymash.com
Finalist:
Dolce 858.832.1518, dolcersf.com
Finalist: Fifth & Rose 619.738.7123, pendry.com

Marco Li Mandri
Marco Li Mandri

Marco Li Mandri
Editors’ Pick: Outdoor Dining Champion
If you’ve taken advantage of San Diego’s myriad new outdoor dining options in recent months, you can thank Marco Li Mandri for leading the movement. The chief executive administrator of the Little Italy Association led Little Italy to be the first to close the streets and offer dining outdoors. “Small businesses are the backbone of this community, so I knew we had to do whatever we could to ensure the survival of as many as possible,” says Li Mandri. “I am happy that not only was Little Italy the first neighborhood in San Diego to offer al fresco dining, but that a large majority of the restaurants were able to increase seating capacity from 50 percent to roughly 95 percent and take steps towards recovery.” Little Italy’s “Al Fresco” open-air dining experience takes place every Friday and Saturday from 4-10pm. In addition, from October 4-8, Taste of Little Italy: Take-Out Edition will take place over five nights with each evening offering a curated six-course meal showcasing standout restaurant favorites. littleitalysd.com    M.P.

Dolce Bar Manager Cassie Wynn, Director of Events Nikole Cavenaugh, Partner Courtney MacDonald, Director of First Impressions Bryna Butler, Owner Erin Smith, and Executive Chef Kendra Karalis
Dolce Bar Manager Cassie Wynn, Director of Events Nikole Cavenaugh, Partner Courtney MacDonald, Director of First Impressions Bryna Butler, Owner Erin Smith, and Executive Chef Kendra Karalis

Dolce
Editors’ Pick: Restaurant on a Mission
For Dolce restaurant partners Erin Smith and Courtney MacDonald, closing their doors was never an option. The team quickly turned part of their Rancho Santa Fe restaurant into a grocery store, selling dairy, pasta, fresh fruit, and vegetables. They added live outdoor music and curbside delivery, remodeled their windows to allow for outdoor bar service, and purchased a dedicated car to deliver groceries and hot food to customers and frontline workers. “Everyone had to drop their so-called titles and just dig in and do the job,” says MacDonald, who adds that they discovered the real grit of their employees and their dedication to Dolce’s clients. “I believe the gratitude from our customers, whether it was a smile or a gracious ‘Thank you for being here,’ made us confident we’re doing the right thing by persevering and staying open during this difficult time.” 858.832.1518, dolcersf.com   M.P.


Best Of Ranch & Coast 2020

Dining | Diversions & Culture | Family & Finance | Fashion & Beauty
Health | Home | People & Philanthropy | Travel


Image Credits Photography by Vincent Knakal

Seven Comments

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.