For our Best Restaurants 2020: Editors’ Picks, click here.

New Restaurant 
Winners: Herb & Sea 760.704.8300, herbandsea.com  & Il Dandy 619.310.5669, ildandyrestaurant.com
Finalist: International Smoke 619.331.4528, internationalsmoke.com
Finalist:
Serea Coastal Cuisine 619.435.6611, sereasandiego.com
Finalist:
Albaca 619.522.3150, albacacoronado.com

Special Occasion
Winners: Mister A’s 619.239.1377, asrestaurant.com  & A.R. Valentien 858.777.6635, lodgetorreypines.com/ar-valentien
Finalist: Animae 619.432.1225, animaesd.com
Finalist:
Veladora Coastal Ranch 858.759.6216, ranchovalencia.com
Finalist: Lionfish 619.738.7200, lionfishsd.com

San Diego Tradition
Winners: The Godfather 858.560.1747, godfatherrestaurant.com & Red Tractons Restaurant 858.755.6600, redtractonssteakhouse.com
Finalist: Mister A’s 619.239.1377, asrestaurant.com
Finalist:
Pamplemousse Grille 858.792.9090, pgrille.com
Finalist:
Imperial House Restaurant 619.234.3525, imperialhouserestaurant.com

Place to Take Out-Of-Town Guests
Winners: The Poseidon Restaurant 858.755.9345, poseidonrestaurant.com & Serea Coastal Cuisine 619.435.6611, sereasandiego.com
Finalist: Mister A’s 619.239.1377, asrestaurant.com
Finalist:
Albaca 619.522.3150, albacacoronado.com
Finalist:
Eddie V’s Prime Seafood eddiev.com

Ambience
Winners: Born and Raised 619.202.4577, bornandraisedsteak.com & Water Grill San Diego 619.717.6992, watergrill.com
Finalist: Madison on Park 619.269.6566, madisononpark.com
Finalist:
Lionfish 619.738.7200, lionfishsd.com
Finalist:
Albaca 619.522.3150, albacacoronado.com

Al Fresco Dining
Winners: George’s at the Cove 858.454.4244, georgesatthecove.com & Pacific Coast Grill 760.479.0721, pacificcoastgrill.com
Finalist: The Poseidon Restaurant 858.755.9345, poseidonrestaurant.com
Finalist:
Cesarina 619.226.6222, cesarinarestaurant.com
Finalist:
Firenze Trattoria 760.944.9000, firenzetrattoria.com

Culinary Innovation
Winners: Juniper & Ivy 619.269.9036, juniperandivy.com & Animae 619.432.1225, animaesd.com
Finalist: A.R. Valentien 858.777.6635, lodgetorreypines.com/ar-valentien
Finalist:
Serea Coastal Cuisine 619.435.6611, sereasandiego.com
Finalist:
Valentina 760.943.6686, restaurantvalentina.com

Juniper & Ivy



Service 
Winners: Mister A’s 619.239.1377, asrestaurant.com & Addison Restaurant 858.314.1900, addisondelmar.com
Finalist: Mille Fleurs 858.756.3085, millefleurs.com
Finalist:
Veladora Coastal Ranch 858.759.6216, ranchovalencia.com
Finalist:
Water Grill San Diego 619.717.6992, watergrill.com

Date Night Spot
Winners: Barbusa 619.238.1917, barbusa.com & Lionfish 619.738.7200, lionfishsd.com
Finalist: Madison on Park 619.269.6566, madisononpark.com
Finalist:
Animae 619.432.1225, animaesd.com
Finalist:
Oceana Coastal Kitchen 858.539.8635, catamaranresort.com/oceana-coastal-kitchen

Hotel Restaurant
Winners: Nine-Ten Restaurant & Bar 858.964.5400, nine-ten.com & A.R. Valentien 858.777.6635, lodgetorreypines.com/ar-valentien
Finalist: Addison Restaurant 858.314.1900, addisondelmar.com
Finalist:
Veladora Coastal Ranch 858.759.6216, ranchovalencia.com
Finalist:
Morada 858.381.8289, theinnatrsf.com/dining/morada

Catering
Winners: Waters Fine Catering & Event Design 619.276.8803, waterscatering.com & Pamplemousse Grille 858.792.9090, pgrille.com
Finalist: Giuseppe Restaurants & Fine Catering 858.581.2205, grnfc.com
Finalist:
Casa Sol y Mar 858.792.4100, casasolymar.com
Finalist:
Second Nature Catering 619.990.9201, secondnaturecatering.com

Neighborhood Hotspot
Winners: Valentina 760.943.6686, restaurantvalentina.com & Madison on Park 619.269.6566, madisononpark.com
Finalist: Herb & Sea 760.704.8300, herbandsea.com
Finalist:
Mangia e Bevi 760.231.1225, mangiaoceanside.com
Finalist:
Cesarina 619.226.6222, cesarinarestaurant.com

Family-Friendly Hotspot
Winners:
Casa Sol y Mar 858.792.4100, casasolymar.com & Sammy’s Woodfired Pizza sammyspizza.com
Finalist: Farmer & The Seahorse 858.260.5400, farmerandtheseahorse.com
Finalist:
The Fish Shop Encinitas 760.436.4665, thefishshopencinitas.com
Finalist:
Waypoint Public 619.255.8788, waypointpublic.com

American Cuisine
Winners: Market Restaurant + Bar 858.523.0007, marketdelmar.com & Union Kitchen & Tap 760.230.2337, localunion101.com
Finalist: Bankers Hill Bar + Restaurant 619.231.0222, bankershillsd.com
Finalist:
Jimmy’s Famous American Tavern 619.226.2103, j-fat.com
Finalist:
Bull & Bourbon Steakhouse 619.659.3374, bullandbourbon.com

Steak
Winners: Bull & Bourbon Steakhouse 619.659.3374, bullandbourbon.com & Born and Raised 619.202.4577, bornandraisedsteak.com
Finalist: Ruth’s Chris ruthschris.com
Finalist:
Rare Society 619.501.6404, raresocietysd.com
Finalist:
Lou & Mickey’s 619.237.4900, louandmickeys.com

Seafood
Winners: Ironside Fish & Oyster 619.269.3033, ironsidefishandoyster.com & The Fish Market 858.755.2277, thefishmarket.com
Finalist: Herb & Sea 760.704.8300, herbandsea.com 
Finalist:
Pacifica Del Mar 858.792.0476, pacificadelmar.com
Finalist:
Water Grill San Diego 619.717.6992, watergrill.com

The Fish Market



French Cuisine
Winners: Mille Fleurs 858.756.3085, millefleurs.com & Jeune et Jolie 760.637.5266, jeune-jolie.com
Finalist: Bleu Bohéme 619.255.4167, bleuboheme.com
Finalist: Bo-Beau Kitchen + Bar 619.224.2884, cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchenbar
Finalist: Et Voilà! French Bistro 619.209.7759, etvoilabistro.com

Italian
Winners: Firenze Trattoria 760.944.9000, firenzetrattoria.com & Buona Forchetta buonaforchettanc.com, buonaforchettasd.com
Finalist: Blade 1936 760.231.1456, blade1936.com
Finalist:
Barbusa 619.238.1917, barbusa.com
Finalist:
Davanti Enoteca davantienoteca.com

Greek Cuisine
Winners: Aladdin Mediterranean Restaurant 858.573.0000, aladdincafe.com & Olympic Café 619.692.9082, olympiccafesd.com
Finalist: Meze Greek Fusion 619.550.1600, gaslampmeze.com
Finalist:
Athens Market Taverna 619.234.1955, athensmarkettaverna.com
Finalist:
Café Athena 858.274.1140, cafeathena.com

Japanese Cuisine
Winners: Tajima Japanese Restaurant 858.576.7244, tajimasandiego.com & Nobu San Diego 619.814.4124, noburestaurants.com
Finalist: Sushi Ota 858.270.5670, sushiota.com
Finalist:
Umi Restaurant 760.442.1900, umi-restaurant.com
Finalist:
Blue Ocean Robata & Sushi 760.434.4959, blueoceansushibar.com

Nobu

 

Sushi
Winners: Sushi Ota 858.270.5670, sushiota.com & Wrench & Rodent Seabasstropub 760.271.0531, seabasstropub.com
Finalist: Himitsu 858.263.4463, himitsusd.com
Finalist:
Samurai Japanese Restaurant 858.481.0032, samuraijapaneserestaurant.com
Finalist:
Hidden Fish 858.210.5056, hiddenfishsushi.com

Wrench and Rodent



Chinese Cuisine
Winners: Din Tai Fung 858.375.5988, dintaifungusa.com & Dumpling Inn & Shanghai Saloon 858.268.9638, dumplinginn.com
Finalist: Jasmine Seafood Restaurant 858.268.0888, jasmineseafood.com
Finalist:
Del Mar Rendezvous 858.755.2669, delmarrendezvous.com
Finalist:
China Max 858.650.3333, chinamaxsd.com

Indian Cuisine
Winners: Tandoori House 619.567.2757, tandoorihousesd.com & Royal India royalindia.com
Finalist: Curry & More Indian Bistro curryandmore.com
Finalist:
Punjabi Tandoor punjabitandoor.com

Thai Cuisine
Winners: Taste of Thai 619.291.7525, sdtasteofthai.com & Plumeria Vegetarian Restaurant plumeriaon101.com, myplumeria.com
Finalist: Bahn Thai 619.299.6363, bahnthai.net
Finalist:
Supannee House of Thai Restaurant & Catering 619.795.8424, sdthai.com
Finalist:
Bangkok Bay Thai Restaurant 858.792.2427, bangkok-bay.com

Mexican Cuisine
Winners: Casa de Bandini 760.634.3443, casadebandini.com & Fidel’s Little Mexico 858.755.5292, fidelslittlemexico.com
Finalist: Lola 55 619.542.9155, lola55.com
Finalist:
Tahona Bar 619.255.2090, tahonabar.com
Finalist:
Red O Taste of Mexico 858.291.8360, redorestaurant.com

Tacos
Winners: City Tacos citytacossd.com & Puesto eatpuesto.com
Finalist: Casa Sol y Mar 858.792.4100, casasolymar.com
Finalist: Death by Tequila 760.782.2240, deathbytequila.com
Finalist:
The Taco Stand letstaco.com

Pizza
Winners: Buona Forchetta buonaforchettanc.com, buonaforchettasd.com & Blade 1936 760.231.1456, blade1936.com
Finalist: Sammy’s Woodfired Pizza sammyspizza.com
Finalist:
URBN Coal Fired Pizza urbnpizza.com
Finalist:
Mangia e Bevi 760.231.1225, mangiaoceanside.com

BBQ
Winners: Phil’s BBQ philsbbq.net & International Smoke 619.331.4528, internationalsmoke.com
Finalist: The Pioneer 619.825.7787, thepioneerbbq.com
Finalist:
Iron Pig Alehouse 858.412.4299, ironpigalehouse.com
Finalist:
Abbey’s Real Texas BBQ 858.566.2333, abbeystexasbbq.com

Wine List
Winners: The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro 760.942.2104, the3rdcorner.com & Nine-Ten Restaurant & Bar 858.964.5400, nine-ten.com
Finalist: Veladora Coastal Ranch 858.759.6216, ranchovalencia.com
Finalist:
A.R. Valentien 858.777.6635, lodgetorreypines.com/ar-valentien
Finalist:
Lionfish 619.738.7200, lionfishsd.com

Craft Cocktails
Winners: Campfire 760.637.5121, thisiscampfire.com & The Huntsman Whiskey Bar 858.756.1131, theinnatrsf.com
Finalist: Madison on Park 619.269.6566, madisononpark.com
Finalist:
Cloak & Petal 619.501.5505, cloakandpetal.com
Finalist:
Elicit Bar & Lounge 619.659.3372, elicitlounge.com

Draft Selection
Winners: Barrel Republic barrelrepublic.com & Waypoint Public 619.255.8788, waypointpublic.com
Finalist: Draft Republic cohnrestaurants.com/draftrepublic
Finalist: Encinitas Ale House 760.943.7180, encinitasalehouse.com
Finalist:
The Corner Drafthouse 619.255.2631, thecornerdrafthouse.com

Restaurant Bar
Winners: The Pony Room 858.756.1123, ranchovalencia.com & Cucina Enoteca Del Mar 858.704.4500, urbankitchengroup.com
Finalist: Lionfish 619.738.7200, lionfishsd.com
Finalist:
Water Grill San Diego 619.717.6992, watergrill.com
Finalist:
Marina Kitchen 619.234.1500, marriott.com

Drink Specials
Winners: Mangia e Bevi 760.231.1225, mangiaoceanside.com & Union Kitchen & Tap 760.230.2337, localunion101.com
Finalist: Campfire 760.637.5121, thisiscampfire.com
Finalist:
Water Grill San Diego 619.717.6992, watergrill.com
Finalist:
619 Spirits North Park 619.269.2757, 619spirits.com

Union Kitchen & Tap



Margarita
Winners: Hacienda de Vega haciendadevega.com & Casa de Bandini 760.634.3443, casadebandini.com
Finalist: The Pony Room 858.756.1123, ranchovalencia.com
Finalist:
Fidel’s Little Mexico 858.755.5292, fidelslittlemexico.com
Finalist:
Jalisco Cantina 760.429.1679, thejaliscocantina.com

Bloody Mary
Winners: Farmer’s Table myfarmerstable.com & T’s Café Solana Beach 858.755.7642
Finalist: Toast Gastrobrunch 760.438.1212, toastgastrobrunch.com
Finalist:
Small Bar & Grill 619.795.7998, smallbarsd.com
Finalist:
Davanti Enoteca davantienoteca.com

Desserts
Winners: RoVino the Foodery 619.310.6421,rovinothefoodery.com & Extraordinary Desserts extraordinarydesserts.com
Finalist: Herb & Wood 619.955.8495, herbandwood.com
Finalist:
Il Dandy 619.310.5669, ildandyrestaurant.com
Finalist:
Sugar Factory/American Brasserie 619.814.2225, sugarfactory.com/san-diego

Baked Goods
Winners: Thyme in the Ranch 858.759.0747, thymeintheranch.com & The Gluten Free Baking Company 858.270.9863, thegfbakingco.com
Finalist: Prager Brothers Artisan Breads pragerbrothers.com
Finalist:
Wayfarer Bread & Pastry 858.454.1924, wayfarerbread.com
Finalist:
Patisserie Melanie 619.677.2132, patisseriemelanie.com

Breakfast
Winners: Toast Gastrobrunch 760.438.1212, toastgastrobrunch.com & Breakfast Republic breakfastrepublic.com
Finalist: Parakeet Café parakeetcafe.com
Finalist:
T’s Café Solana Beach 858.755.7642
Finalist:
Café Gratitude San Diego 619.736.5077, cafegratitude.com

Brunch
Winners: Farmer & The Seahorse 858.260.5400, farmerandtheseahorse.com & The Brigantine brigantine.com
Finalist: Breakfast Republic breakfastrepublic.com
Finalist:
Toast Gastrobrunch 760.438.1212, toastgastrobrunch.com
Finalist:
Oceana Coastal Kitchen 858.539.8635, catamaranresort.com/oceana-coastal-kitchen

The Brigantine


Quick Bite
Winners: Cava cava.com & City Tacos citytacossd.com
Finalist: Mendocino Farms mendocinofarms.com
Finalist:
Mangia e Bevi 760.231.1225, mangiaoceanside.com
Finalist:
Parakeet Café parakeetcafe.com

Coffee Shop
Winners: Better Buzz Coffee Roasters betterbuzzcoffee.com & Bird Rock Coffee Roasters birdrockcoffee.com
Finalist: Parakeet Café parakeetcafe.com
Finalist:
Lofty Coffee loftycoffee.com
Finalist:
Spill the Beans Coffee and Bagels 619.233.3836, spillthebeanssd.com

Ice Cream Shop
Winners: Salt & Straw saltandstraw.com & Handel’s Homemade Ice Cream 760.230.6948, handelsicecream.com
Finalist: The Baked Bear thebakedbear.com
Finalist:
Stella Jean’s Ice Cream 619.501.8252, stellajeans.com
Finalist:
Mariposa Ice Cream mariposaicecream.com

Sandwich Place
Winners: Board & Brew boardandbrew.com & Mendocino Farms mendocinofarms.com
Finalist: Jersey Mike’s Subs jerseymikes.com
Finalist:
The Gourmet Bagger 619.523.0590, thegourmetbagger.com
Finalist:
Moto Deli 760.505.6422, motodeli.com

Juice or Smoothie Place
Winners: Juice Crafters juicecrafters.com & Pressed Juicery pressedjuicery.com
Finalist: Elixir Juice and Food 858.793.4663, elixirdelmarca.com
Finalist:
Choice Juicery choicejuicery.com
Finalist:
Café Gratitude San Diego 619.736.5077, cafegratitude.com

Vegetarian or Vegan
Winners: Café Gratitude San Diego 619.736.5077, cafegratitude.com & Goodonya 858.264.8550, goodonyaorganic.com
Finalist: Plumeria Vegetarian Restaurant plumeriaon101.com, myplumeria.com
Finalist: Eve eveveganeats.com

Gluten-Free Options
Winners: Flower Child 858.314.6818, iamaflowerchild.com & True Food Kitchen truefoodkitchen.com
Finalist: Café Gratitude San Diego 619.736.5077, cafegratitude.com
Finalist: Ranch 45 858.461.0092, ranch45.com
Finalist:
Nectarine Grove 760.944.4525, nectarinegrove.com

Business Lunch
Winners: The Grill at Torrey Pines 858.777.6641, lodgetorreypines.com/the-grill & Red O Taste of Mexico 858.291.8360, redorestaurant.com
Finalist: Farmer & The Seahorse 858.260.5400, farmerandtheseahorse.com
Finalist:
Mister A’s 619.239.1377, asrestaurant.com
Finalist:
Nine-Ten Restaurant & Bar 858.964.5400, nine-ten.com 

The Grill at the Lodge at Torrey Pines



Local Market
Winners: Cardiff Seaside Market 760.753.5445, seasidemarket.com & Sprouts Farmers Market sprouts.com
Finalist: Jimbo’s… Naturally! jimbos.com
Finalist:
Frazier Farms frazierfarmsmarket.com
Finalist:
Carlsbad Ranch Market carlsbadranchmarket.com

 

Photography by Vincent Knakal